Regional Development Australia Goldfields Esperance

Regional Development Australia (RDA) is an initiative of the Australian Government that aims to enhance the growth and development of regional areas by bringing together the three levels of government (Federal, State and Local) to provide a strategic and targeted response to issues in regional areas.

RDA Goldfields Esperance is one of 55 committees representing regional areas across Australia.

The Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development is the Hon. Michael McCormack, serving since 26 February 2018. He has overall responsibility for RDA, whereas Hon. Andrew Broad, Assistant Minister to the Deputy Minister, will have responsibility for the administration of the RDA Program. This will see Minister Broad take the day to day lead on RDA issues.

The new Charter for Regional Development Australia was released in August 2017 and outlines a new direction for RDA's across Australia.

Strong, Confident and Vibrant Regions

A New Charter for Regional Development Australia

Regional Development Australia (RDA) is a national network of Committees made up of local leaders who work with all levels of government, business and community groups to support the economic development of their regions.

RDA Committees have an active and facilitative role in their communities and a clear focus on growing strong and confident regional economies that harness their competitive advantages, seize on economic opportunity and attract investment.

Working in close partnership with fellow RDA Committees, all levels of government, and the private sector, RDA Committees will:



  1. Collaborate with relevant stakeholders to identify economic opportunities and leverage private and public sector investment to the regions;
  2. Connect regional businesses, councils and industry sectors with international trade partners, financial markets and potential investors;
  3. Promote and disseminate information on Australian Government policies and grant programs to state and local governments and industry, business and community sectors;
  4. Support community stakeholders to develop project proposals to access funding;
  5. Develop and maintain positive working relationships with the local government bodies in their regions;
  6. Facilitate public and private sector decentralisation;
  7. Assist in the delivery of Australian Government programs, where relevant and where requested by the Minister;
  8. Engage with regional entrepreneurs and emerging business leaders to explore new opportunities to grow local jobs in their regions;
  9. Provide information on their region's activities and competitive advantages to all levels of government, industry, business and community sectors; and
  10. Provide evidence-based advice to the Australian Government on critical regional development issues positively and negatively affecting their regions.

WA RDA Network

In Western Australia, the RDA network comprises nine regional RDA Committees which are non-profit community incorporated associations, based in the following regions:

A map of the WA RDA Committee boundaries can be found at:

RDA Chairs and Committee members contribute their time and have a personal commitment to working in partnership with all levels of government for the benefit of their local and regional communities.

Each RDA Committee receives funding from the Australian Government and uses these funds for approved projects, employing staff, undertaking administrative operations and to implement the RDA Charter. 

  • logo1.png
  • logo2.png
  • logo3.png
  • logo4.png
  • logo5.png
  • logo6.png
  • logo7.png
  • logo8.png
  • logo9.png

Follow Us:

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn